Are you thinking about renting a snowmobile at Cragun’s this winter? Below are some of the questions that come up most frequently.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How many snowmobiles do you have and what kind are they?
We will have a total of 29 snowmobiles for rent.
The 2-up snowmobiles are Polaris 600 LXT’s (i.e. 600 cc’s)
The 1-up snowmobiles are Polaris 600 Shifts (i.e. 600 cc’s)
2. Am I required to have snowmobile safety certification?
Anyone born after December 31, 1976 (i.e. 36 years old or younger) is required to have snowmobile certification. There is an Adult Certification program and a Youth (ages 11-15) certification program. For more information on certification, go to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources website.
Non-residents certified in snowmobile safety training in another state will be recognized in Minnesota. Any non-resident 18 years and older does not need a snowmobile safety certificate. Non-residents ages 12 and 13 must have a snowmobile safety certificate to operate on public lands and cross state or county roads. Non –residents ages 14-17 must have a snowmobile safety certificate to cross state or county roads. For more information, go to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources website.
3. Do you have snowmobile clothing for rent?
Yes, we have jackets, bibs, boots, gloves and helmets for rent. The complete outfit is $27. We have children through adult sizes available. If they want to rent a helmet only, the cost is $10.
4. What are the hours for snowmobile rental?
Half Day – (8 am – 2 pm) or (3 pm – 9 pm)
Full Day – (8 am – 8 pm)
Weekends – (Saturday – Sunday) and December 23rd – January 2nd Weekend Rates Apply!
5. What are your snowmobile rental policies?
To rent a snowmobile you must be 21, present a valid driver’s license, and have a snowmobile safety certificate if required by MN State Laws. A deposit of one half your total rental per sled is required at the time of the reservation by check or credit card. If you cancel more than 15 days before the date of the rental, your deposit will be refunded less a $40 administrative fee. At less than 15 days, the deposit is forfeited. If conditions are deemed unsafe by our staff at your scheduled time, all deposits will be refunded. The balance is due at the time of the rental. A refundable damage deposit of $1000 per unit is required by cash or credit card. The snowmobile rental policy, and prices are subject to change without notice. 6.875% Minnesota Tax added to all rates.
6. How old does someone have to be to rent a sled?
The person renting the snowmobile must be at least 21 years of age. If an adult would like to rent a snowmobile for someone younger than 21, they must have completed the snowmobile certification program.
7. What is the trail system like?
The Gull Lake Drifters lighted trail runs past Cragun’s and is connected to other groomed trails in our area including a trail through the Pillsbury Forest. Detailed maps are available at the Snowmobile Center.
8. If I am bringing my own snowmobile, do I need to purchase a Snowmobile State Trail Sticker?
Yes. We have them for sale in the marina for $36.00.
9. If I bring my own snowmobile, is there somewhere safe to park it?
Yes, in most cases, you can park it in front of the room or cabin you are staying in or arrangements may be made to lock them in the corral with Cragun’s snowmobiles, however, there is limited availability. The SnoMo Center Manager will decide if there is room and where the snowmobile will be parked in the corral.
For more information on Cragun’s snowmobile rentals, click here.